Cuttlebug vs. Big Shot (Wedding Thank You Cards: Part 2)

A few years ago, I thought about getting into scrapbooking but decided not to for a few reasons. While I was sitting on the fence about whether or not to pursue this hobby, I found myself at a local arts and crafts store staring at a hand crank die cut and embossing tool. I didn’t quite get how it worked by the box but it was really intriguing. With my coupon in hand, I was tempted to purchase the contraption but decided against it and put it away. Scrapbooking was not for me. I realized I was more into baking at that stage in my life, and although the thought of scrapbooking all my photos and making them organized and pretty was appealing, the sheer amount of things that I would need to do such a hobby was not. I also didn’t like the idea of spending so much time on a project (ie. page layout) and not being able to share it/ give it away.

Four years later, I started card making and the die cut machine came up again. Last Christmas, I decided to get one as a Christmas present to myself but my next problem was I couldn’t decide which one to buy. I wasn’t quite ready to fork out like $300+ for an electric die cutting machine so that thankfully limited my options to a few manual ones. The most common names that came up in my research were Cuttlebug and Big Shot.  I ended up choosing the Cuttlebug for a few reasons. The main reason was SPACE! Although the Big Shot has a sturdier base,  I unfortunately don’t have the luxury of space at home so the fact that the Cuttlebug’s platform nicely folds up for easier storage was a great selling point for me. It’s also a little bit cheaper than buying the Big Shot. You have to buy an extra “C” plate for the Cuttlebug if you want to use it for die cutting, but the combined cost is still cheaper than the Big Shot. Amazon.ca seems to be fluctuating in price, but when I got it, it was only $70!

thumb_IMG_3713_1024

A downside to the Cuttlebug is the platform isn’t large enough for some of the larger dies. I honestly haven’t bought any and I don’t think I will. I can see this being a problem for like scrapbookers or people that want to use those big Card Framelit dies by Sizzix. The largest thing I’ve put through the Cuttlebug was a 6″x6″ We R Memory Keepers embossing folder and they work just fine. I also read complaints about the suction not working well after a while on the Cuttlebug as well, but I find if you just wipe it with a damp cloth it will work great again. It’s just all the dust/embossing powder/glitter etc that gets on it that prevents it from suctioning well.

thumb_IMG_3715_1024

The Cuttlebug and Big Shot are both great machines that basically will do the same job minus a few differences, but after a bit of research, the Cuttlebug is better suited to my needs.

Here’s some more simple wedding cards using embossing folders and die cuts!

thumb_IMG_5781_1024

Simple and classy thank you card using Lifestyle Crafts Embossing Folder and Mama Elephant’s Dainty Bow die.

I embossed this card with an embossing folder from Lifestyle Crafts. I think this particular embossing folder might have been discontinued. I tried to search for it so I can link it below if anybody wants one but I can’t seem to find it anymore :(. I cut a strip of patterned paper and adhered it to the card base where the embossing ends. I die cut the Dainty Bow my Mama Elephant and assembled it with liquid glue and adhered it to the paper ribbon. I used the, “Thanks ever so much” stamp from the Mama Elephant Water Blooms stamp set to stamp the sentiment inside the card.

thumb_IMG_5672_1024

Stitched border by Mama Elephant; Next level embossing folder by We R Memory Keepers; Simon Says Stamp thank you heart die.

thumb_IMG_5665_1024

Mama Elephant landscape trio and thanks script creative cuts.

thank you sweater angle wm

Same as above; Lifestyle Crafts embossing chevron embossing folder

I selected 1 pattern paper and 2 solid card stock colours that would match with that pattern. I cut down and adhered the pattern paper to fit the card base and used a corner chomper to round off the bottom corners. I die cut the solid card stock pieces with one of the hill borders from Mama Elephant’s landscape trio and the thanks script die and adhered them to the card base. I really love that the hill border die is stitched. It just adds a great touch to the card. For the teal card, I took my top panel of solid card stock  and a Lifestyle Crafts Chevron Embossing Folder and ran it through my Cuttlebug before adhering it to my card base. Because this was a thank you card for my wedding, I used the same sentiment that I stamped in the cards in my last post from Mama Elephant’s Sunday Sentiments stamp set, ” I am grateful that something special has brought us together”.

I hope you guys like these cards! If you are interested in any of the products I used in this post, they are listed below. I will be continuing on with my thank you card series in the next post as well.

For my Canadian friends, here’s some things you can get off Amazon.ca

 

Leave a Reply

