Wedding Thank You Cards: Part 1

I’m backlogged in my posts a bit. I have so much to catch up on!! While I was recovering from surgery, I decided to take on my wedding thank you cards as a project. Unfortunately, I had already bought some cards and written some of the thank you cards out prior to my surgery and urge to get into card making, so not everybody received a handmade card. The majority of them looked like this:

thumb_IMG_5646_1024

thumb_IMG_5647_1024

 

I wanted them to be clean and simple. I also wanted them to be feminine and masculine looking and I wanted the cards to follow the same design pattern so I would be able to reproduce them quickly. I decided to use an awesome hexagon background block stamp by Hero Arts for the main design. I really love the design on this stamp. It really stuck out to me when I was looking for background stamps on Amazon because it’s so visually interesting. I bought this as a wood block stamp. Had I had known that it came in a cling version, I would have bought that instead! As much as I like the impression that a rubber stamp gives, I find it takes up too much space to store and I don’t have a lot of space to start with. I need to find a better organization solution or maybe I just need a bigger house hahaha…. >_>

Anyways, for feminine cards I used the thank you script stamp from Mama Elephant’s Sunday Sentiments set and Simon Says Stamp’s Thanks on a line craft die for the more masculine ones.

thumb_IMG_3674_1024

 

I tried two different white inks for these cards- One by Colorbox and other by Hero Arts. Since I was relatively new to paper crafting when I made these cards, I wasn’t sure what ink was good so I bought both! Here’s a side by side comparison of them.

thumb_IMG_3711_1024

Both are pigment inks so they tend to take a bit of time to dry but I found the Hero Arts ink dried a bit faster. There is also a difference in the material that the ink pads are made of. Color Box is like a soft, thin sponge, while the Hero Arts one is firmer. Personal preference, I like ink application with the Hero Arts one a bit more because of the firmness of the ink pad but both worked well for what I needed it for.

Here’s how I made these Thank you Cards:

  1. Create card base: Cut card stock down to size (8.5″ x 11″) and use bone folder to crease centre so the card bases measure 4.25″ x 5.5″. Set aside.
  2. Cut card front out of coloured card stock (4.25″x 5.5″).
  3. Stamp hexagon stamp diagonally over lower 1/3-1/2 of card front. For more feminine cards, stamp scripty thank you a few millimetres above hexagon design. For more masculine card, die cut thanks from white card stock and adhere to card front.
  4. Trim a few millimetres off each side of the card front and round corners with corner chomper. Adhere card front to card base with adhesive tape runner.
  5. Stamp inside greeting. For these cards I used the Mama Elephant Sunday Sentiments set and stamped, “I am grateful that something special has brought us together.”

I made like sixty of these, then got tired of them and started doing other designs for thank you cards. I’ll share them in the future.  If anybody is interested in the products I used, I have linked them below.

For my Canadian friends, here’s some things you can get from Amazon.ca:

 

Leave a Reply

