Ink blending and Emboss resist (Wedding Thank You Cards: Part 3)

Let’s talk about Distress inks. I absolutely LOVE Distress inks. I briefly mentioned them in my first post, but let me enlighten you more in depth. They are so versatile. You can use them for regular stamping applications, they are amazing to blend with, and are also fade resistant. Furthermore, the ink also reacts with water so you can use them as watercolours and even spray water over a finished product to create a water droplet effect.

Distress inks come in two sizes. Both are great depending on your needs. I don’t have much space so I prefer the smaller size so I can fit them all into a small container. They were designed so that you can stack them too, which is kind of neat. I just have a small qualm with the larger Distress ink container though, as I find that the lids aren’t very secure and come off easily. So if you like to store them on their side, be careful!! I would hate for them to dry out on you!thumb_distress ink_1024

Ink blending and emboss resist techniques are by far my favourite techniques that I discovered when I started paper crafting. Distress inks blend so well! It’s like the ink stays wet for the adequate amount of time to allow for smooth blending.

Here’s how you do it:

  1. Stamp, apply and heat set embossing powder like normal (white embossing powder works well for this)
  2. Apply Distress ink using foam/sponge in circular motions. Keep rubbing to blend into smooth application. Add more ink as needed.
  3. Use dry paper towel to buff embossed surfaces to get rid of excess ink.

Distress inks come in such a large array of colours that there are a variety of possible combinations of colours that you can blend with! I’m slowly building my collection of colours. Ranger (the company that makes Distress ink) also carries great wood handled circle and rectangle sponge applicators. The applicators come with a few sponges and are also sold separately. I know there are other products out there but I bought these to try first and I liked them so I haven’t tried using anything else!

thumb_IMG_3113_1024

Dusty Concord, seedless preserves, picked raspberry, salty ocean, chipped sapphire

thumb_IMG_3148_1024

Mustard seed, carved pumpkin, abandoned coral

Here is another wedding thank you card that I did using this technique.

Thank you ink blend green wm

Peacock feathers, cracked pistachio, and twisted citron

The thank you script stamp and stitched rectangle die is from Mama Elephant and the scallop border is by Wplus9. I’m sure other companies make stitched and scalloped dies but this is just what I have on hand. I made a few of these in different colours to give away. Honestly, I’m kind of sick of thank you cards so you can look forward to seeing cards of other occasions soon!

If you’re interested in any of the products I use they are listed below.

For my Canadian friends, here are the things that you can get from Amazon.ca:

Leave a Reply

