Commissioned project: Puppy Birthday Shaker Card

Last week I was commissioned to make a dog birthday card for someone. I chose MFT’s Lucky Dog stamp set and was so excited to break it out because I hadn’t used it yet. It’s hard to choose which dog is my favourite! thumb_IMG_3820_1024

I made three different cards for him to choose from and this is the one that he ended up choosing:

thumb_IMG_6000_1024

The word “birthday” is reflecting light but it did emboss fine. The picture does not do it justice. The frames were cut using MFT’s Die-namics Blueprints 27 and the background paper is Lawn Fawn’s Perfectly Plaid paper. Lawn fawn named each plaid design after their staff members. These particular plaid designs are Nancy and Kristin. This plaid paper pack is absolutely beautiful and is currently my favourite paper pack to use. Each plaid pattern comes in both straight and diagonal and come in both 6″x 6″ and 12″x 12″ paper pads.

thumb_IMG_3821_1024

Sample of Perfectly Plaid paper pack

I took a A2 sized piece of white card stock and marked out where the frames would be and placed my plaid paper accordingly as so the white card stock would not show with the frame overtop.

I adhered some acetate to the frame then die cut the “happy” text and glued it to the acetate. I cut a little banner out of paper that was originally an envelope from a card I had received (yay recycling! ^_^) and embossed birthday with Simon Says Stamp’s Antique Gold embossing powder and adhered it to the frame.

I stamped the dogs in black ink then coloured them with Copic Markers. The colours I use are as follows:

Corgi: E08, E04, R20                                                                                                                                         Chihuahua: E33, E31, R20, B00                                                                                                                     Terrier: W5, W2, R20, V04, V01

I die cut the dogs out using coordinating dies and adhered them to the acetate. I applied 3M foam adhesive to the back and selected my shaker card components (chunky glitter, star confetti, and sequins) and placed them in my shaker card. Next, I adhered the frame/acetate part to the white/plaid card stock card front with the 3M foam. I glued the card front to my card base and stamped a special message inside. That finishes my card for today. I hope whoever receives it really likes it! My supplies are listed below for whoever is interested!

 

 

http://static.inlinkz.com/ppr.js

Leave a Reply

