MFT Sketch Challenge 281

While I had the ball rolling with the Lucky Dog stamp set from the last post,  I decided to use the same stamp set for MFT’s Sketch Challenge this week. This is the sketch for this week.

281

A couple months ago I bought MFT’s Die-namics Birthday Centerpieces and I decided to pull it out for this challenge. I decided to continue on with my shaker card streak and make this one also into a shaker card. This is what I came up with:

thumb_IMG_6004_1024thumb_IMG_6006_1024

I’m really liking making shaker cards these days. They’re just so much fun and something you can’t really buy when you go to Hallmark.

So I took a piece of light pink card stock and cut it so it was slightly smaller than a regular A2 size (5.5″ x 4.25″) and rounded off the corners with a corner chomper. I took the birthday centerpiece die and die cut it once on the light pink card stock and another time on a scrap piece of purple card stock. I used scissors and cut out the centerpiece from the purple, making sure to exclude the  stitched border and adhered it on top of pink card stock being diligent to make the die cut images line up.

I stamped and die cut the chihuahua image and bow from MFT’s Lucky Dog stamp set and Copic coloured it using E31, E33, B02, and B00. I used a bit of glue to secure the bow to the dogs head.

I took some masking paper and the Birthday Centerpieces die and drew around it and cut it out of the masking paper. I placed that mask over the die cut pink and purple card stock and stamped the background using MFT’s Paw Print Background in Lawn Fawn Plastic Flamingo ink. I cut out a piece of acetate and adhered it to the card front behind the die cut and glued the chihuahua to the front. I then flipped the card front over and adhered foam adhesive to the back to create a space for the shaker components. I selected my shaker components (confetti, chunky glitter, and sequins) and placed it in my shaker card and adhered it to my card base.

I cut a banner out of blue card stock and heat embossed the greeting “I am one lucky dog to have you” in Simon Says Stamp Antique Gold embossing powder and stuck it to the card front using square dimensional foam adhesive.

I’m super happy how the card turned out. I recently discovered these sketch challenges and I think they’re kind of fun! I hope to participate more in them in the future if time permits! Supplies are listed below for anybody interested.

Leave a Reply

