Mermaid For You Pop Up Card

I have previously talked about Lawn Fawn’s Mermaid For You Stamp set here. I’ve had it for a month now and I still love it! I decided to try and make something epic with it this time around. I’ve never made a pop up card before so I decided to try. This is what I came up with.

Cut a piece of card stock to 5.5″ x 9″. Once you begin assemble the card, it will become an A2 sized card. I scored the paper at 2 1/8″, 4.25″, 6 3/8″, and 8.5″ along the long edge and at 2.75″ along the short edge. Cut along each score line along the long edge  until you meet the 2.75″ score line.

thumb_IMG_4103_1024

By the 8.5″ score line there will be 0.5″ of paper left on the edge. Cut diagonally to the edge of the paper, doing this will make a tab on the bottom half of the 0.5″ edge. Fold on each score line except for the horizontal score on the panel closest to the tab. This will be the back of the pop up card.

thumb_IMG_4109_1024

Cut panels out of different colours of card stock. I’ve seen people just do single panels to decorate the card front and back but I like to cut 2 panels, one slightly smaller than the other so I can use the larger one as a matte. My matte panel is 1 7/8″ wide and I cut 2- 5 1/8″ long and 9- 2 3/8″ long pieces. For my smaller panels, I used one piece of white card stock to mount on one of the 1 7/8″ x 5 1/8″ pieces (this is used on the back of the card for a personal message) and another of the same size out of patterned paper (to be the back of the pop up card when it is open). The other smaller panels can be any pattern paper of your choice. I used MFT’s Lots of Dots Background Stamp and Lawn Fawn’s Peacock ink to decorate some of the panels and patterned paper from my stash on the others (I did 6 panels plus the other 1 7/8″ x 5 1/8″ panel in the dot background and used 3 panels of pattern paper).

thumb_IMG_4121_1024

Adhere these panels onto the matte card stock and then to the card base. The 1 7/8″ x 5 1/8″ pieces are mounted on the card base that wasn’t folded earlier. On the same side with the pattern paper panels, I put the white card stock panel on the bottom row and the dot panels on the top row. Flip it over and adhere the dot background 1 7/8″ x 5 1/8″ panel opposite the white card stock panel and the residual small dot background panels on the top row of the card base. Apply adhesive on the tab and assembled the box.

thumb_IMG_4111_1024

Cut the scrap paper left over from the first cut of the card stock ( the 5.5″ x 9″ piece) into 2- 1″x 3″ pieces and score at 0.5″ and 2.5″. This will be adhered inside the top opening of the box and will give you layers for your pop up card.

I stamp, coloured, and cut images from Lawn Fawn’s Mermaid For You and Fintastic Friends Stamp set and arranged them to my liking on the pop up card layers. I used several Lawn Fawn inks for the coral and sea weed. I adhered some pieces with Ranger Multi Matte and others with Scotch tape. I put some fish up scrap pieces of acetate to make it seem like the fish were swimming around. I also decorated the back of the card where the white card stock is with a rock, seaweed, and fish.

I die cut a scalloped circle and gold glitter embossed a sentiment from SSS Lovely Spring Stamp set and adhered the circle to the front panel of the opened card.  I stamped and heat embossed “Happy Birthday” in white embossing powder on the front of the closed card. I looked through my stash and I only had one happy birthday stamp that fit that was from a Lawn Fawn set called Bake Me A Cake.

thumb_IMG_6284_1024

Card Front

thumb_IMG_6294_1024

Card Back with space to write a message

thumb_IMG_6289_1024

I hope that wasn’t too confusing. I had a lot of fun making this card and will be making more of these kind of pop up cards in the future! I hope this card gives you guys lots of ideas for future projects. As always, supplies are listed below for anybody interested in the products I used on this card.

UPDATE: March 13, 2017- You can check out my Youtube video below for how to make a box card base. It might be easier than reading my description above.

6 thoughts on “Mermaid For You Pop Up Card

Leave a Reply

