MFT You Could Be a 2016 Card Design Superstar Contest Entry #1

Print

 

I’m listing this post as #1 as you are allowed three entries for this contest! The contest is open theme but with the exclusive use of MFT stamps and dies. I have lots of ideas and a pile of things on my desk that I’ve been meaning to use…

MFT’s Forest Friends stamp set has been sitting on my desk since I bought it when it first released. It’s now time to give it some love!

So I recently took a trip out to Banff, AB for my last camping trip of the year. While my husband and I were driving out to our camp site, I gained some inspiration for my card entry through the beauty of all the Autumn colours and the falling leaves. So on that note, I present this shaker card as my first entry into the MFT’s You Could Be a 2016 Card Design Superstar!

thumb_img_6700_1024

thumb_img_6708_1024

The bear is my favourite stamp in the set so I decided to make him part of the card design. I stamped the bear and lots of leaves from this set because I wanted to use the leaves in the shaker card. I used MFT’s Tree-mendous Die-namics and I used Ground Espresso Distress Ink for the base of the trees. For the tree tops, ground, and other shaker component leaves, I used a mixture of Mustard Seed,Carved Pumpkin, Twisted Citron, Fossilized Amber, Scattered Straw, Wild Honey, and Crushed Olive. The ground was cut using MFT’s Scenic Safari Die-namics and the other shaker component leaves were cut using MFT’s Birch Tree Die-namics.

I didn’t want the background to be too busy and I also didn’t want to use just a plain blue piece of cardstock so I ended up using a next level embossing folder to add some visual interest.

I used the largest of the Stitched Rectangle Scallop Frames Die-namics, Ranger Multi Matte Adhesive, acetate, and 3M double sided foam tape to create my shaker.
Other components I used in my shaker card, besides the leaves I die cut from the Birch Tree Die-namics and leaves stamped from the Forest Friends stamp set, were acquired from Micheals. I found some nice sequins there that were different shades of gold, as well as, some iridescent orange chunky glitter that matched my theme perfectly!

Hope you guys liked my card! That finishes up my first entry for this contest. My next entry will be posted soon!!

3 thoughts on “MFT You Could Be a 2016 Card Design Superstar Contest Entry #1

Leave a Reply

