Custom Valentine’s Day Pop Up Card

So, I’m capping myself off for the next few months. I’m not allowed to buy any new releases until I’m done going through all the sets I haven’t used yet that I bought last year.

thumb_dsc02315_1024

As you can see, I’m very backlogged at the moment…

I didn’t get a chance to make many Valentine’s day cards as I was on vacation for the last month but I had a friend ask me to make a custom project for him.
He wanted a Pop Up Card for his wife that incorporated his cats. So for this project, I had to use MFT’s Cool Cats Stamps and let him pick the cats that he wanted on the card. I coloured them as best as I could to match the colour of his cats using a combination of  Prismacolor Color Pencils and Copic Markers. He has a black Arabian Mau and a marble Bengal. I had the idea that when the card opened, the cats would be surrounded by various sizes of hearts.

So this is what I came up with:

If you’re unfamiliar with how to make a box card base, please refer to my post here or watch my Youtube video below.

I used Sugarplum ink with  MFT’s Lace Background Stamp to emulate patterned paper for my front and back decorative panels. The yellow patterned paper is actually origami paper that I found at this quaint Japanese store in Edmonton called Ki-Fu-Ne Japan.

thumb_dsc02297_1024

thumb_dsc02298_1024

thumb_dsc02308_1024

I dug through my stash for solid heart images and ended up using hearts from Lawn Fawn Snow Day, Simon Says Stamp Lovely Spring and Love Makes A Home stamp sets. On another note, I was Spotted by Simon Says Stamp for their January 2017 edition. Check that out here. I was absolutely thrilled and surprised. They also sent me some retired supplies as a gift. It was the November 2012 card kit with the stamp set Music 2 My Ears. That particular stamp set has 2 beautiful decorative heart stamps that I also decided to use for this card.

thumb_dsc02310_1024

Likewise, I dug through my ink stash to find colours that would go well together. I pulled out Simon Says Stamp Teeny Bikini, MFT Bubblegum Ink, and Lawn Fawn’s
Sugarplum, Fresh Lavender, and Guava to stamp the hearts with.

I positioned the cats and hearts on my card base with acetate and small pieces of card stock and adhered them down with a glue pen and scotch tape.

Lastly, to finish my card, I embossed my sentiment, “I love mew”, from MFT I Knead You Stamps set, in a gold embossing powder by Recollections on a Sugarplum stamped heart from the Lovely Spring stamp set.

thumb_dsc02309_1024

I hope my friend’s wife likes this card. It just so happened that this card works for the themes for this week’s Simon Says Stamp Monday challenge (Theme: Pet’s Corner) and Wednesday challenge (Theme: The Color of Love). That’s it from me today, HAPPY VALENTINE’S DAY!! Thanks for stopping by.

3 thoughts on “Custom Valentine’s Day Pop Up Card

  1. kath says:

    this is just adorable…what a wonderful surprise when you open the box to see these cuties pop up…thank you so much for sharing with us at Simon Says Stamp Monday Challenge…hugs kath xxx

    Like

Leave a Reply

