Day 15- 30 Day Coloring Challenge: Lawn Fawn Out of This World Shaker Card

challenge_graphic-mar16_plain-650-1

I know, I know, I said I wouldn’t buy any new releases until I was done whittling down my pile, but I feel like I have made a significant dent into it and the new Lawn Fawn release was so tempting. I caved and bought a few things…

The stamp set I HAD TO buy and the one featured in this card is the Out of This World Stamp set. I have a few ideas for this stamp set, here’s the first:

thumb_IMG_7261_1024

Besides box pop up cards, I’ve really been into ink blending backgrounds lately. This “galaxy” looking background was done by ink blending Twisted Citron, Mermaid Lagoon, Chipped Sapphire, Abandoned Coral, Wilted Violet, and Black Soot. I sprayed my ink blended panel with water and then flicked white acrylic paint over it. I finished up my “galaxy” by taking a mini spray bottle and filling it with a small scoop of Perfect Pearls Powder and filling the bottle with water. I lightly misted the panel with this solution so the whole panel subtly shimmers.

I stamped and cut out all the images and did some simple colouring with my Copic markers. I die cut the frame using the largest of My Favorite Things Single Stitched Lined Rectangle Frames and a banner from Lawn Fawn’s Everyday Sentiment Banner Dies.

I adhered the planets and stars down to the background then proceeded to glue
the acetate to the frame. I started putting 3M Foam Tape to the back of the frame to create a chamber for my shaker components. I usually do 2 layers, but after my first layer, I taped my little astronaut to the centre of some fishing line and stuck the fishing line in between the first and second layer of 3M foam tape. I filled my shaker card as per usual. For this card I used a combination of Sparkling Clear Mix Sequins, Metallic Silver Stars, Iridescent White Sequins, a few from the Rhythm N Blues Sequin pack, and a few other pieces from sets I acquired at Micheals.

I adhered my frame in place then proceeded to heat emboss the sentiment on the banner. I used, “It’s A Special Day,” and heat embossed it with Gold Tinsel embossing powder by Recollections. I popped the rocket ship and banner up on 3M Foam Tape and adhered it to my card front.

You can watch my little floating spaceman in action here:

thumb_IMG_7264_1024

Well, that’s all from me for now. This is my first “floating” element card and galaxy background. LOVE THEM BOTH! I will definitely use these techniques again in the future. Thanks for stopping by!

 

Leave a Reply

