Day 16- 30 Day Coloring Challenge: Lawn Fawn Out of This World Box Pop Up Card

challenge_graphic-mar16_plain-650-1

I’m on a roll with this Out of This World Stamp Set. I had also bought the Scalloped Box Card Pop Up Die in Lawn Fawn’s last release. It’s a little bit different than the box cards that I usually make but I really wanted to give it a try. I guess the best way to put it is that the box cards I usually make are portrait style and the Lawn Fawn box card die creates box cards in landscape style. I really wanted to make all the planets fit in the box, so this is what I came up with:

thumb_IMG_7271_1024

For the decorative “galaxy” background, I took a different approach than yesterday. Today I used my Mijello Mission Gold Watercolor Palette on Canson XL Watercolor Paper. I dropped a bunch of different bright colours down on the paper, waited for them to dry then covered it all in black. Because the black is a bit translucent, the bright colours show through slightly. I finished up my galaxy painting by flicking white watercolour paint over the piece. I used the stitched dies included in the Scalloped Box Card Pop Up Die Set to cut out all my panels for my box card.

thumb_IMG_7272_1024

Card Front

thumb_IMG_7274_1024

Card Back

I stamped and cut out all the planet images, the rocket ship, and a bunch of stars and coloured them with Copic markers .

I cut strips of acetate, adhered the die cut images to them, and adhered them to my box card with Ranger Multi Matte Medium and Scotch tape.

I heat embossed the sentiment, “Hope your birthday is out of this world”, on the front panel in silver tinsel embossing powder by Recollections. I adhered all the panels to the box card then cut some white card stock for the back for an area that people can write on and adhered it into place as well as another little rocket ship and a few stars for a decorative element. I finished up the card by brushing all the stars with my Clear Wink Of Stella.

Check it out opening here:

That finishes up day 16! I hope you guys enjoyed my card. Thanks for dropping by!

 
https://linkdeli.com/widget.js

Leave a Reply

