Lawn Fawn Smooth Sailing Slider Card: Lawnfawnatics Challenge #78

It’s been a while since I made a card. It’s almost mid June and my maternity leave is quickly approaching. I’ve been busy this past month trying to purge and get my household ready for the baby! Realistically, the baby could come out anytime now. Now that I am mostly done house prep, I can craft until the baby comes out.

During my one year off, I would like to work towards:

1. Getting through the pile of “new” stuff on my desk

2. Creating more by entering more challenges

3. Getting more use out of my older stamp sets by coming up with multiple designs for a stamp set

4. Purging my current stash of things that don’t fit into my current crafting style

5. Becoming more selective on the products I buy and not buying things just because they are on sale

6. Restocking my Etsy Shop

I have these goals in mind but we’ll see how it goes!

78-lawn-fawnatics-scene

This week’s Lawn Fawnatics Challenge is to create a scene which is awesome because that’s pretty much all I do! I’m still working through the pile of stuff on my desk that I haven’t used yet so today I will be using Lawn Fawn’s Smooth Sailing stamp set. This is what I came up with.

 Screenshot_20200612-130029_2

Screenshot_20200612-130043_2

Screenshot_20200612-125907_2

I actually made a mistake on this card but didn’t realize it until I went to glue it to the card base. Due to a cutting error, this card is slightly larger than A2 sized- 4 1/4″x 5 5/8″.

All the images were from the Smooth Sailing stamp set and stamped with Lawn Fawn Jet Black Ink. The images were fussy cut and coloured with Copic Markers. I used the following colours:

Clouds: B00

Rabbit: W3, W0, Y06

Bear: E43, E42

Boats: E37, E33, E31, R29, R27, R35, N1, 0

The background was cut using Lawn Fawn’s Stitched Windy Background and ink blended with Distress Oxide Inks Carved Pumpkin, Dried Marigold, Squeezed Lemonade, Tumbled Glass, Salty Ocean, and Faded Jeans. I wanted a slight border so I trimmed the panel down slightly and adhered the background to a piece of white cardstock that was accidently 4 1/4″x 5 5/8″.

The waves were cut using Lawn Fawn’s Stitched Simple Wavy Borders and ink blended with Distress Oxide Inks Tumbled Glass and Salty Ocean. The panels were sprayed with water to create a splotchy effect and then flicked with the same ink diluted with water on a paintbrush to created speckles. I die cut the slider channel using Lawn Fawn’s Slide On Over Waves. I adhered the larger waves to the card front and prepped my smaller wave panel for the slider element. I used my dwindling supply of pennies (Canada stopped circulating pennies in 2012) and cut a doubled up small piece of 3M foam tape to adhere my penny to my larger sail boat in the sliding channel. The whole small wave panel was popped up with a double layer of 3M foam tape and adhered onto the card front.

I used the skinniest banner from Lawn Fawn’s Everyday Sentiment Banner set and heat embossed the sentiment, “Wishing You Smooth Sailing”, in WOW Opaque Bright White Embossing Powder. I popped the banner up on 1 layer of 3M foam tape and adhered it to my card front. I glued my other images down to my card front to finish up my scene with my Zig 2 Way Glue Pen.

You can check it out in action here:

You can check out the Lawnfawnatics Challenge here. This card was also entered into Simon Says Stamps Monday Challenge here.

I hope you all like the scene that I created! Thanks for stopping by!

 

Author: 12bpandagreetings

Nurse by day/evening/night. Card maker and blogger the rest of the time I'm not working or sleeping.

2 thoughts on “Lawn Fawn Smooth Sailing Slider Card: Lawnfawnatics Challenge #78”

Leave a comment