Waffle Flower Be Her Shaker Card

My friend’s birthday is coming up and thankfully she doesn’t really do social media so I can share her card early! I recently acquired Waffle Flower’s Be Her stamp set set and I absolutely love the unicorn image! It’s nice and big so it’s great to be the focal point of the card. I thought it would make a cute shaker card with a rainbow background.

salt_20190508_221159_083

I stamped and coloured the unicorn with the following Copic markers: RV14, RV13, YR16, YR02, B02, B00, V04, V06, YG06, YG03, Y06, Y02, W0, 0.

I had 2 cover plates with horizontal stripes that I could have opted to use for this card. I have Mama Elephant’s Classic Stripe Cover Die and Papertrey Ink’s Stripes Horizontal Cover Plate and I opted to use the Mama Elephant one because it had 6 stripes. I thought that I could put one of each color of the rainbow in each stripe (red, orange, yellow, green, blue, and purple). I cut my 2 layers of 3M foam tape to separate each compartment of the stripe for the shaker. This is where I regretted choosing the Mama Elephant die over the Papertrey ink die. The Papertrey ink die has a wider side so it would have been easier to do a shaker card with that one instead but I persisted and finished my shaker card using the Mama Elephant die cut.

I originally had the idea to do this card with seed beads but I didn’t get a chance to go out and buy them and I wanted to make the card at that particular instant. I ended up using sequins, chunky glitter, and whatever matched that particular color of the rainbow for the shaker card.

I glued the unicorn down and die cut a stitched banner from MFT’s Blueprints 20. I heat embossed the sentiment, “how lucky I am to have you as a friend”, in Tonic Nuvo Glacier White Fine Detail Embossing Powder. This sentiment is from Mama Elephant’s Picnic With Friends stamp set. I adhered the banner onto the card with 3M foam tape.

I usually don’t do the insides of the card but for the inside I stamped, “Wishing a rainbow of happiness”, from MFT’s Rainbow of Happiness. I thought the sentiment suited the card nicely. I stamped the, “rainbow” text in a rainbow of colours using Lawn Fawn Lobster, Carrot, Sunflower, Freshly Cut Grass, Grape Soda and Hero Arts Neon Blue. I then stamped it again with Versamark ink and heat embossed it with WOW Clear Sparkle.

This card was entered into Simon Says Stamps Monday Challenge and Wednesday Challenge.

Thanks for stopping by!

Author: 12bpandagreetings

Nurse by day/evening/night. Card maker and blogger the rest of the time I'm not working or sleeping.

Leave a comment